Have you changed jobs in the last twelve months?

The wonders of technology and the power of social media never cease to amaze me. This week, I received an email from LinkedIn entitled “Gill, 65 of your connections changed jobs in 2010.” Fascinated, and in spite of my NYR 2011  don’t get so easily distracted, especially by emails – d’oh! – I clicked on the link. A sea of familiar faces sprang into view…

For many people, whom I work with more closely, I knew about these changes – for others, I could click on their picture and go straight to their LinkedIn profile and find the latest news – clever stuff.

What turbulent times we live in. Far removed from the “job for life” era of my parents, here were almost a quarter of the very talented people I am “linked in” with moving on to a new venture – all within twelve months.

I am proud of my growing LinkedIn network. I enjoy connecting with interesting people, particularly those who share my passion for personalisation in health and social care.

It struck me that this is just the beginning of the “austerity era” in public services – what will the next twelve months bring? What will happen to the wealth of talent and experience that exists within personalisation teams in local authorities? How many of them will be able to continue to take this important agenda forward, especially when the “ring-fenced” transformation funding finishes at the end of March 2011?

Philippa Codd and I are co-managing a group on LinkedIn – “The personalisation group to revolutionise social care”. We are attracting lots of people who really care about this agenda and have a lot to contribute. Let’s hope that the next twelve months will bring the right changes – so that more and more people will be enabled to take control of their lives and share the choices that most of us take for granted. Let’s ensure that, one way or another, we do not lose the experience and talent of people who can really help make a difference.

As a bit of an aside, I compared notes with Philippa as we each have about the same number of LinkedIn connections. 79 of her people had moved on, representing nearer a third …so, I posed a question…

“Only” 65 of Gill’s LinkedIn contacts have changed jobs in the last 12 months, compared to 79 of Philippa’s… does this make …

   (a) Philippa more dynamic than Gill
   (b) Gill more reliable than Philippa
   (c) Neither of the above
   (d) Both of the above

 Answers on a postcard please to: #itjustgoestoshowyoucanproveANYTHINGwithstatistics

About Gill Phillips - Whose Shoes?

Passionate about personalisation in health & social care. Creator of Whose Shoes? - an imaginative approach to helping people work together to improve lives. http://nutshellcomms.co.uk
This entry was posted in Blogs, health, personalisation, public sector, social care and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

