For the avoidance of doubt. My Mum is NOT up for adoption…

Last week we had some fun on Twitter. As we do…

A lot of people love my 91 year old Mum’s down to earth guest blogs.

Some of them love my Mum. But I got a bit alarmed when a battle broke out to adopt her.
Excuse ME!!

When I saw Mum, I told her what was happening and we had a laugh and posted a couple of tweets together.

My son, just back from sunnier climes, as he has been playing cricket all ‘winter’ in Australia, chipped in with some cricket tips:

Mum loves a bit of banter… The next day, I got the idea of setting Mum up with her own Twitter account. I have no idea if this will work as Mum has always dismissed Twitter as a B-I-G waste of time. But many people feel like this before they ‘get’ it πŸ™‚ …

She could perhaps tweet in her own right (under her pseudonym) … it could be something we could do together now and then.. and then who knows?

I set her up ‘surreptitiously’ and tipped off a few friends…
https://twitter.com/nurse_w_glasses/status/320216666451619840

Just as I was wondering how many tweeting nonagenarians there are, serendipity struck as I spotted a similar thought on the other side of the pond….

And in true Twitter style, RTs quickly led to fab suggestions…

wistfulness…

and humour…

tecchy 104 year olds…

… knowing more than we do!

Interesting… Mum LOVES Scrabble…

And the thrill of finding others, who, like me are trying to help their elderly parents connect…

Girls behaving badly…

Under age?

Age restrictions DO apply…

So, it was with some trepidation that I told Mum I had been so bold as to β˜›Β  sign her up for a Twitter account.Β  ☚

She was not particularly impressed, insisting that it was a “waste of time” and that she would have nothing to tweet about..

But I can tell she is becoming fond of my Twitter friends. I talk about them a lot and tell Mum about the banter we share. She can see how excited I am to chat to amazing like-minded people in the UK and beyond, and make new friends.

We got her going with an iPad and started tweeting together:

I was hoping some of my Twitter pals would be on-line as it was important for Mum to see the immediacy of Twitter. In no time at all, they obliged:

And the banter began…

Reluctantly, Mum started to smile…

I will just take it gently. Tweet now and then with Mum. And hoping she will soon be insisting on having her own iPad… πŸ˜‰

Thank you Dan. Very kind.
You and Shirley Ayres fuelled my love of social media.
So be warned. If Mum finds out, she might just blame you! πŸ˜‰

About Gill Phillips - Whose Shoes?

Passionate about personalisation in health & social care. Creator of Whose Shoes? - an imaginative approach to helping people work together to improve lives. http://nutshellcomms.co.uk
This entry was posted in Blogs, community engagement, Gill's Mum, in my shoes, personalisation, social media, well-being and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For the avoidance of doubt. My Mum is NOT up for adoption…

  1. Pingback: The power of Twitter – Take 2. Twitter | Whose Shoes?

  2. Pingback: More ‘random thoughts’ from @Gills_Mum ;) | Whose Shoes?

  3. Pingback: In the shoes of… | Gill’s Mum. Reluctantly accepting a bit of ‘assistance’… | Whose Shoes?

Leave a Reply

