In the shoes of Gill’s Mum… The Gas Man Cometh

By popular request, I am posting another blog by my wonderful 91-year old Mum, a.k.a @Gills_Mum. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did… 🙂

It was on a Monday morning that the gasman came to call!

Well the central heating was playing up so I rang the gas people to look at the boiler. Played the 91 card which got me someone right away. Well, if you have to put up with the age, you might as well make it work for you!

I expected to see that nice smiling man you see on TV, who seems to be able to land anywhere on the planet from outer space. Well I didn’t get him, I got a very taciturn young man who seemed to have been trained by MI5 to give nothing away. He must’ve been the star pupil – “Well, I can’t say”… “I’m not able to comment” … ” I couldn’t possibly tell you that”… And so on. I thought the best one was “Can’t comment on that” when I said that wet, cold weather was forecast!! However, he was equally as efficient at his job and fitted a new part which had everything going beautifully within an hour.

But there was a penalty! I had to listen to a lecture about not getting the system properly flushed through often enough and I really should do it now. Well I don’t fancy, in this weather, having the heating off for the whole day with men tramping through the house and doors open etc, if it can wait a few weeks until hopefully spring warmer weather arrives.

So I said OK, but not now. That didn’t please him at all but he was able to get his own back by telling me that he would give me an estimate and it would be very expensive. As these quotes, apparently, only last 28 days (why??) I still don’t know how much of the family silver I shall have to sell. Anyway, so far so good. Take it as it comes and hope for the best!

About Gill Phillips - Whose Shoes?

Passionate about personalisation in health & social care. Creator of Whose Shoes? - an imaginative approach to helping people work together to improve lives. http://nutshellcomms.co.uk
This entry was posted in Blogs, community engagement, Gill's Mum, Guest blog, housing, personalisation, well-being and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the shoes of Gill’s Mum… The Gas Man Cometh

  1. Angie Carter says:

    Hi Gill’s Mum
    I’ve had the stern sell from BG before about having the same. I couldn’t afford it. Sometime later I changed from having BG gas care to using a lovely local gas engineer. He quoted me half the price and told me autumn was the best time of year. The sludge has settled in the radiators and the flush would get rid of it before starting to use the system again in the winter.
    Kind regards
    Angie

    Like

  2. maspring37 says:

    Hi, when I lived in Herne Bay with my husband I had a service contract with ‘ your firm’ to cover gas stove, gas boiler and gas fire. It was approx. £36 per month. I moved to where I live now, a much smaller home, and transferred the contract to here. They upped the price even though I haven’t a gas fire and not as many radiators. When the engineer did come for the annual service he was here about five minutes. No checking of the radiators even though one probably had air in it as it didn’t get hot. I phoned to say I wanted to change to a smaller tariff. The man was rude and said I must have a fire and it wouldn’t save me much anyway. In the end , I said could I speak to his manager, he said No so I cancelled the whole thing. The firm I have now found that my gas bill was high , not because of usage or price raise, but a leak under the floor which could have resulted in an explosion. Nice to hear from you,Gill’s Mum.

    Like

Leave a Reply

